Voting for Presidential election begins in Telangana

Voting for Presidential election began at the Telangana Assembly here today amidst tight security.The Telangana State Legislature, for the first time, is witnessing a historic event of Presidential Election which began at 1000 hours and will end at 1700 hours.

The Legislature Secretariat officials have made adequate arrangements for the crucial polling in the conference hall and police officials cordoned off the premises with tight security.The Presidential election was necessitated as the incumbent Pranab Mukherjee’s term is expiring on July 24.

Telangana legislature has a total of 119 MLAs, including TRS 90, Congress 13, MIM seven, BJP five, TTDP three and CPM one who are participating in the voting.It is pertinent to note that BJP-led NDA candidate Ram Nath Kovind and Congress-led UPA candidate Meira Kumar are in the fray for the crucial Presidential poll.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *