20 BRS Councillors Join Congress

Kothagudem/Hyderabad, Feb 14 (Maxim News): Even as Kothagudem Municipal Chairperson Kapu Seethalakhsmi is set to face a floor test on February 19, as many as 20 BRS Councillors joined the Congress on Wednesday.

Click Here To Join Us On WhatsApp

Councillors T. Laxman and Pallepu Raju and spouses of female councillors as their representatives joined Congress at Wyra in Khammam in the presence of Deputy Chief Minister Mallu Bhatti Vikramarka, AICC Secretary Rohith Chowdary and Khammam district Congress president P Durga Prasad. 

It might be noted that 22 councillors of BRS had served a no-confidence motion against the chairperson of their party to district collector Dr Priyanka Ala on January 23.  internal differences among the councillors and the chairperson were said to be the reason.

Click Here To Join Us On WhatsApp

BRS leaders Bhima Sridhar, Ravi Rambabu and Durga Prasad played a key role in moving the no-confidence motion with an eye on the chairperson seat.  The dissident councillors alleged that Seethalakshmi was making unilateral decisions about development works in their municipal wards and was not consulting the Councillors in allotting the work tenders. 

The support of 22 councillors was required if the Chairperson wanted to win the floor test.  It was unlikely to happen given the change of loyalty by the councillors.  The strength of the Kothagudem municipal council was 36.  meanwhile, congress leaders were planning to move the councillors to a camp outside Telangana.  (Maxim News) 

Next Story :

Now you can get the latest stories from Indtoday on Telegram every day. Click the link to subscribe.  Click to follow Indtoday’s Facebook pageTwitter and Instagram. For all the latest Hyderabad News updates

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.