Anurag Singh Thakur inaugurates Indian Panorama Section at IFFI 53

#IFFIWood, 21 November 2022: The Indian Panorama Section of the 52nd International Film Festival of India, taking place in Goa, opened today with the promise of bringing to life on the big screen tales gathered from across India.

The inaugural ceremony introduced the audiences to IFFI’s official selection of 25 Feature & 20 Non-Feature films under the Indian Panorama 2022 category for this year.

Speaking on the occasion, the Minister congratulated the filmmakers whose movies are being screened at the IFFI. He thanked all the jury members for taking out time to watch all the movies and selecting the best among them for the Indian Panorama.

Addressing the gathering, Apurva Chandra, Secretary, Ministry of Information & Broadcasting , said, “Under the Indian Panorama Section, we will be showcasing the best of the films from all the four corners of the country.”

The Union Minister Anurag Singh Thakur felicitated the filmmakers of the opening films, Hadinelentu (Feature) and The Show Must Go On (Non-feature).

Divya Cowasji, Director of the opening film in Non-feature film category, The Show Must Go On, remarked that, “It was during the lockdown, when I was stuck at home with my brother, who’s also a filmmaker, that we decided to edit the footage of the film shot during rehearsals of theatre artistes of old Parsi theatre. They were coming together for one final show after being away from the stage for over 30 years. I fell in love with the greats of Parsi theatre while editing the raw footage of their one last performance I can proudly say that this film is born on the editing table.

The opening film in the Feature film category, Hadinelentu, is the director’s fourth film and is also going to be premiered in International Film Festival Busan 2022. Prithvi Konanur, Director of the film, thanked IFFI for the honor & recognition to the film. He added that the film deals with the sensitive issues facing teenagers in the urban society of our times. 

The Indian panorama is a flagship component of the IFFI under which the best of contemporary Indian films are selected for the promotion of the film art. It was introduced in 1978 as part of the IFFI umbrella to promote Indian Films and India’s rich culture and cinematic art.

The Jury members were also felicitated by the Union Minister of Information & Broadcsting Anurag Singh Takhur during the event.

The selection of the Indian Panorama is made by eminent personalities from the world of cinema from across India comprising a total of 12 jury members for feature films and six jury members for non-feature films led by the respective chairpersons. Exercising their individual expertise, the eminent jury panels contribute evenly to the consensus that leads to the selection of Indian Panorama films of respective categories.

The Feature Film Jury, comprising twelve members, was headed by acclaimed director and editor, Chairperson Vinod Ganatra. The Non-Feature Film Jury, comprising six members, was headed by acclaimed filmmaker, producer, writer and National Film Award winner, Oinam Doren.

The selected films for the Indian Panorama section, with an aim for the promotion of film art, will also be screened for non-profit screening in international film festivals in India and abroad, Indian Film Weeks held under Bilateral Cultural Exchange Programmes and Specialized Indian Film Festivals outside cultural exchange protocols, and special Indian Panorama festivals in India.

Next Story :

  • Louis Philippe expands its portfolio with the launch of luxurious sneaker range

    Louis Philippe expands its portfolio with the launch of luxurious sneaker range

    Hyderabad/Mumbai; October 4, 2023: Louis Philippe is excited to announce a significant expansion of its product portfolio. The brand has unveiled a brand-new line of luxurious sneakers that redefine style, comfort, and sophistication, catering to the cosmopolitan and discerning consumer. This milestone marks a new era in footwear fashion, seamlessly merging exquisite craftsmanship with cutting-edge…

  • AAP MP Sanjay Singh Arrested In The Delhi Liquor Scam

    AAP MP Sanjay Singh Arrested In The Delhi Liquor Scam

    Delhi/Hyderabad, Oct 4 (Maxim News): Aam Aadmi Party leader and MP Sanjay Singh was arrested by the Enforcement Directorate (ED) today in the Delhi Liquor Policy scam.  

  • Why Political Party Not Named In PMLA: SC Asked ED In The Liquor Scam

    Why Political Party Not Named In PMLA: SC Asked ED In The Liquor Scam

    Delhi/Hyderabad, Oct 4 (Maxim News): The Supreme Court on Wednesday questioned Additional Solicitor General (ASG) S.V Raju representing the Enforcement Directorate 9ED) in the Prevention of Money Laundering Act (PMLA) case against former Delhi Deputy Chief Minister Manish Sisodia, on why the political party was not an accused yet.  the court asked the ED to reply to…

  • Govt. Raises Cooking Gas Subsidy To Ujjawala Beneficiaries To Rs. 300 Per Cylinder

    Govt. Raises Cooking Gas Subsidy To Ujjawala Beneficiaries To Rs. 300 Per Cylinder

    Delhi/Hyderabad, Oct 4 (Maxim News): The Central government hiked the subsidy on cooking gas cylinders given under the Ujjwala scheme to Rs. 300 per cylinder from the existing Rs. 200. 

  • Modi has exposed BRS-BJP nexus: Uttam

    Modi has exposed BRS-BJP nexus: Uttam

    Hyderabad, October 4: Nalgonda MP and former TPCC President Captain N Uttam Kumar Reddy on Wednesday said that Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s speech in Nizamabad has finally exposed the unholy alliance between the BJP and BRS.

Now you can get latest stories from Indtoday on Telegram everyday. Click the link to subscribe.  Click to follow Indtoday Facebook page and Twitter and on Instagram. For all the latest Hyderabad News updates

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.