Dubbak Election Begins

DUBBAK: Polling for the Dubbak assembly byelection voting under way with heavy security arrangements at all polling booths here on Tuesday. The estimated voter turnout till 9 am was around 13 per cent.

Para-military forces have been deployed at sensitive polling stations which were identified by the police.

TRS candidate Solipeta Sujatha has cast her vote at Chittapur village and BJP candidate M Raghunandan Rao cast his vote in Boppapur polling station near Dubbak.

It s to mention here that there are over 1.98 lakh voters and 315 polling stations in the constituency. The bypoll has been necessitated due to the death of sitting legislator Solipeta Ramalinga Reddy.

The Medak and Siddipet district administration made arrangements for voters to follow Covid-19 norms.

Voting for bye-elections in 54 Assembly constituencies across 10 states began on Tuesday.

Madhya Pradesh

In Madhya Pradesh, the political ambitions of four senior leaders – Kamal Nath of the Congress, and Jyotiraditya Scindia, Shivraj Singh Chouhan, and Narendra Singh Tomar of the Bharatiya Janata Party – are at stake.

Voting will be held for 28 seats in Madhya Pradesh, eight in Gujarat, seven in Uttar Pradesh, two each in Odisha, Nagaland, Karnataka and Jharkhand; and one seat each in Chhattisgarh, Telangana, and Haryana. Prime Minister Narendra Modi urged citizens of all states to cast their ballot in large numbers and “strengthen the festival of democracy”.

Voting will be held from 7 am to 6 pm, except in Chhattisgarh, Jharkhand and Nagaland. The number of people allowed in a polling booth has been curtailed because of the coronavirus pandemic and the restrictions imposed to contain it. The counting of votes will take place on November 10.

The Congress has made the elections a vote on the “betrayal” of Scindia and his loyalists, who the party says ditched the mandate of the people. Scindia, on the other hand, blamed Congress leaders like Nath and Digvijaya Singh of betraying the trust of the people by running a corrupt government.

Campaigning in the state was marked by acrimonious exchanges between Congress and BJP leaders, which culminated into the Election Commission’s decision to remove Nath as a star campaigner for repeated poll code violations. The commission had cited Nath’s use of a derogatory term for BJP leader Imarti Devi, who is also a candidate in the bye-polls. The poll panel had issued a notice to Nath on October 21 for calling Devi an “item”. On Monday, the Supreme Court stayed the Election Commission’s order.

They are now seeking to retain their seats by contesting the bye-elections as BJP candidates. The rest have either been suspended by Congress or have resigned from the party.

Now you can get latest stories from Indtoday on Telegram everyday. Click the link to subscribe.  Click to follow Indtoday Facebook page and Twitter and on Instagram

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.