By-poll Results 2022 LIVE: TMC Hues Light Up Asansol as Party Celebrates Shatrughan’s Solid Lead

By-poll Results 2022 LIVE Updates: The counting of votes for one Lok Sabha and four Assembly seats that went to polls earlier this week will be held on Saturday.

Ballygunge (West Bengal), Khairagarh (Chhattisgarh), Bochahan (Bihar), and Kolhapur North (Maharashtra) were the four assembly constituencies that went to polls. One Lok Sabha seat where election was held is Asansol, West Bengal.

Votes are being counted for the recently concluded by-elections in Bengal’s Asansol Lok Sabha seat and assembly seats in Bengal’s Ballygunge, Khairagarh in Chhattisgarh, Bochahan in Bihar and Kolhapur North in Maharashtra.

The Asansol seat became vacant after BJP member Babul Supriyo resigned and joined the Trinamool Congress (TMC). The TMC fielded Babul Supriyo for the Ballygunge assembly seat, where he will face BJP’s Keya Ghosh and CPI-Saira M’s Shah Halim. The TMC won this seat in the 2021 assembly elections, but its sitting MLA, Subrata Mukherjee, died in November last year, necessitating by-elections.

The TMC has chosen actor-turned-politician Shatrughan Sinha to represent Asansol in the Lok Sabha. He is going up against Agnimitra Paul of the BJP.

Meanwhile, after the fifth round of counting, Babul Supriyo is leading the Ballygunge Assembly seat by a margin of 8,498 votes. Supriyo has received 16,548 votes, while CPM candidate Saira Shah Halim is a distant second getting 8,049 votes. Congress candidate Kamaruzzaman Chowdhury bagged 2,820 and BJP candidate Keya Ghosh got 1,418 votes. While TMC received 58.84 per cent votes, CPM got 25.33 per cent and the BJP 4.26 per cent.

A byelection was held in Khairagarh assembly seat due to the death of Janata Congress Chhattisgarh (J) MLA Devvrat Singh. In this case, voter turnout was 78 percent. The postal ballots will be counted first, followed by the EVM.

The counting will continue for 21 rounds on 14 tables. Ten candidates ran for the Khairagarh assembly seat, but the fight was expected to be between Yashoda Verma of the Congress and Komal Janghel of the BJP. The Election Commission had announced byelections for these seats on March 12.

Elections became necessary in Kolhapur North assembly seat after sitting Congress MLA Chandrakant Jadhav died of Covid in December of last year. There was a 60 percent turnout on Tuesday. There were 15 candidates running for this seat, but the contest was expected to be between the Congress and the BJP. In Maharashtra, the Congress is a constituent of the Maha Vikas Aghadi government.

Next Story :

  • Chandrababu Naidu In Two-Day Custody Of CID

    Chandrababu Naidu In Two-Day Custody Of CID

    Vijayawada/Hyderabad, Sept 22 (Maxim News):  The ACB court in Vijayawada, today has given a verdict by giving CID custody for two days to interrogate Chandrababu Naidu in the skill development scam. However, the custodial trial was ordered to be conducted in Rajahmundry Central Jail itself.  

  • Let’s Watch The Razakar Movie Together: Bandi Sanjay To Gudur

    Let’s Watch The Razakar Movie Together: Bandi Sanjay To Gudur

    Yadadri/Hyderabad, Sept 22 (Maxim News): BJP National General Secretary and Karimnagar MP, Bandi Sanjay said to Gudur Narayana Reddy, a member of the party’s state executive committee and producer of Razakar File movie, that they will watch the movie together.

  • Hyderabad Wakes Up With Heavy Rainfall On The Friday Morning

    Hyderabad Wakes Up With Heavy Rainfall On The Friday Morning

    Hyderabad, Sept 22 (Maxim News): Heavy rains have been reported in various parts of the state, including Hyderabad. Since Friday morning, areas such as Khairatabad, Ameerpet, Panjagutta, Sr Nagar, Sanat Nagar, Borabanda, Kapra, ECIL, Malkajgiri, Mushirabad, Kukatpally, Alwyin Colony, Moosapet, prati Nagar, Nizampet, Bachupally,  Saidabad, Malakpet, Dilsukhnagar, LB Nagar, Vanasthalipuram, Uppal, Banjara Hills, Jubilee Hills, and…

  • Rain WARNING For Telangana: Yellow ALERT In Hyderabad

    Rain WARNING For Telangana: Yellow ALERT In Hyderabad

    Hyderabad, Sept 22 (Maxim News): The Meteorological Department has warned that there will be torrential rains across Telangana as the low pressure continues in the Bay of Bengal.  

  • Rajaiah And Kaidam Dosti Once Again In Presence Of KTR

    Rajaiah And Kaidam Dosti Once Again In Presence Of KTR

    Station Ghanpur MLA Rajaiah and the MLC Kadiam Srihari dosti once again in the presence of the Working President of BRS and Minister K.Tarak Rama Rao, they met each other at the Chief Minister K.Chandrasekhar Rao camp office-cum-residence “Pragathi Bhavan” to patch up their differences.

Now you can get latest stories from Indtoday on Telegram everyday. Click the link to subscribe.  Click to follow Indtoday Facebook page and Twitter and on Instagram. For all the latest Hyderabad News updates

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.