Mamata Banerjee’s Swearing-in As Bhabanipur MLA On Oct 7

West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee will take oath as an MLA on October 7 and the Trinamool Congress (TMC) has written to Governor Jagdeep Dhankhar inviting him to administer the oath of office to the party supremo at the State Assembly instead, informed Partha Chatterjee, General Secretary of Trinamool Congress (TMC) on Monday.

Speaking to media, Chatterjee said, “We suggested and requested the Governor to come down to Assembly and administer the oath of office on October 7.”

However, Dhankhar said he will wait till the official gazette notification on the Bhabanipur by-poll result is issued.

“Raj Bhawan response on the administration of Oath/Affirmation to the Members elected to the WBLA in bye-election from 159-Bhabanipur A/C, and the adjourned poll in 56-Samserganj and 58-Jangipur A/Cs held on 30 September 2021. Once Gazetted Governor would take call,” tweeted the official Twitter handle of the West Bengal Governor.

Earlier on October 3, following TMC’s poll victory in Bhabanipur, Jangipur and Shamsherganj, a request was made to the Governor by the state that the Bengal assembly speaker be given the responsibility to administer the oath to the newly-elected MLAs on October 4.

Responding to a question on the Governor’s decision to conduct the oath-taking ceremony in the Governor house, Chatterjee said, “It is our desire and request to the governor that the oath-taking be conducted in the Assembly.”

Answering a query on TMC and other opposition leaders not being allowed in the Lakhimpur Kheri district in Uttar Pradesh following violence that broke out after a car hit protesting farmers, Chatterjee said, “This is their (BJP) culture. They are scared of TMC and Mamata Banerjee.”

Mamata Banerjee's Swearing-in As Bhabanipur MLA On Oct 7
Mamata Banerjee’s Swearing-in As Bhabanipur MLA On Oct 7

Mamata Banerjee wins Bhabanipur by-poll

Mamata Banerjee won the Bhabanipur by-poll by a record margin of over 58,000 votes against Priyanka Tibrewal of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). And of now as a member of the state Legislative Assembly, Banerjee will be allowed to continue as Chief Minister of West Bengal. The Election Commission of India (ECI) informed that Banerjee received 85,263 votes that are about 71.90% of the total by-elections votes.

While Banerjee’s opponent BJP candidate Priyanka Tibrewal secured 26,428 votes and Srijib Biswas of CPI (M) got 4,226 votes. The win was crucial for Banerjee as she has to secure a legislative assembly seat by the first week of November and continue as the Chief Minister of West Bengal.

TMC came to power in West Bengal with a landslide victory in this year’s Assembly polls. However, Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee lost to her former aide Suvendu Adhikari in Nandigram. Following this, the West Bengal Agriculture Minister Sobhandeb Chattopadhyay vacated the Bhabanipur Assembly seat in May, to make way for Banerjee to retain her CM position.

Next Story:

Now you can get latest stories from Indtoday on Telegram everyday. Click the link to subscribe.  Click to follow Indtoday Facebook page and Twitter and on Instagram. For all the latest Hyderabad News updates

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.