70.66% Voter Turn Out In The Telangana Elections

Hyderabad, Dec 1: A voter turnout of 70.66 per cent was recorded in the polling for Telangana Assembly elections held on November 30, the Election Commission of India has said.

Among 33 districts, Yadadri Bhongir district recorded the highest turnout of 90.03 per cent while Hyderabad registered the lowest polling at 46.68 per cent.

70.66% Voter Turn Out In The Telangana Elections
70.66% Voter Turn Out In The Telangana Elections

63.94% Polling Turn Out At 5 PM

After the polling ended at 5 p.m., the turnout was estimated to be nearly 64 per cent. However, the number was revised as those standing in queues at polling stations at 5 p.m. were allowed to cast their votes. The process in some polling stations continued till 9 p.m.

The turnout has come down by about three per cent compared to 2018 elections. It was 73.74 per cent in the previous Assembly elections.

A little over 3.26 crore voters decided the political fortunes of 2,290 candidates in the polling held on Thursday.

Total number of voters in the state are 3,26,02,799 voters. They comprise 1,62,98,418 men, 1,63,01,705 women and 2,676 transgenders.

51.89% Polling Turn Out At 3 PM

With just two more hours left for polling, common people as well as celebrities lined up at the polling stations.  With this, the polling percentage is gradually increasing. 

Election  officials announced that 51.89 percent polling has been recorded across the state by 3.00 p.m.. The highest polling was recorded in Medak district at 69.33 percent, while the lowest polling was recorded in Hyderabad at 31.17 percent.

36.68% Polling Turn Out At 1 PM

The Election Commission has announced that 36.68 Per Cent polling has been recorded till 1 p.m. 


Earlier,  20.64 per cent polling was recorded till 1 pm.

Adilabad recorded the highest percentage of 30.35 percent, Hyderabad recorded only 12.39 percent.

Polling Underway In Hyderabad With High Voter Enthusiasm

Polling was underway amid tight security across Telangana to elect a new state legislative Assembly on Thursday.

Long queues were seen at some polling stations when the voting began at 7 a.m.

Despite the early morning chill, voters lined up to cast their votes in all 119 Assembly constituencies.

Technical snags in electronic voting machines were reported from a few places but authorities swiftly arranged alternate machines.

A little over 3.26 crore voters will decide the political fortunes of 2,290 candidates.

The Election Commission of India has made elaborate arrangements for polling at 35,655 polling stations spread across 33 districts.

Election authorities have arranged a total of 72,931 ballot units or EVMs. Of them 59,779 will be deployed at polling stations while the remaining will be kept in reserve for replacement.

A total of 2,290 candidates, including 221 women and one transgender, are in the fray.

Political Parties Tough Fight

36.68% Polling Turn Out At 1 PM Across Telangana
36.68% Polling Turn Out At 1 PM Across Telangana

BRS and Congress are locked in a tough battle for power in India’s youngest state. While BRS is aiming for a third consecutive term in power, Congress is confident of forming the first government in a state which it claims to have carved out.

BRS is contesting all 119 seats on its own. Congress has left one seat for its ally Communist Party of India (CPI).

BJP is the third major contestant in the fray and it may impact the outcome by cutting into anti-incumbency votes.

The BJP has fielded candidates in 111 constituencies and left the remaining eight for its ally Jana Sena Party (JSP) led by actor-politician Pawan Kalyan.

Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) is contesting all the seats on its own. AIMIM, a friendly party of BRS, has fielded candidates in nine constituencies, all in Hyderabad. In the rest of the state, it has declared support to BRS.

Chief Minister and BRS president K. Chandrasekhar Rao is contesting from Gajwel and Kamareddy constituencies. State Congress chief A. Revanth Reddy is contesting from Kamareddy and Kodangal.

The other prominent candidates include BRS working president IT minister K.T. Rama Rao (Sircilla), finance minister T. Harish Rao (Siddipet), Congress leader and former Indian cricket captain Mohammed Azharuddin (Jubilee Hills), Congress Legislature Party (CLP) leader Mallu Bhatti Vikramarka (Wyra), former TPCC president Uttam Kumar Reddy (Huzurnagar), BJP leader and former minister Eatala Rajender (Huzurabad and Gajwel), BJP General Secr

Next Story :

  • IndiGo Launches Daily Direct Flights Between Hyderabad And Bangkok

    IndiGo Launches Daily Direct Flights Between Hyderabad And Bangkok

    Hyderabad, Feb 26 (Maxim News): IndiGo has inaugurated daily direct flights connecting  Hyderabad to Bangkok, marking a significant milestone in air connectivity between the two cities.  The inaugural flight, 6E1067, took off from Hyderabad’s Rajiv Gandhi International airport at 3.55 am local time on Monday, destined for Bangkok’s Suvarnabhumi airport, with a scheduled arrival at 9.05…

  • Legendary Singer Pankaj Udhas Passed Away

    Legendary Singer Pankaj Udhas Passed Away

    Mumbai/yderabad,  Feb 26 (Maxim News): Legendary singer Pankaj Udhas passed away at the age of 72. Pankaj’s team confirmed his death today (February 26) morning. This news shocked many people. Singer Sonu Nigam was among those who reacted to his death.

  • Revanth Govt. Taken Key Decision On LRS-2020 Applications

    Revanth Govt. Taken Key Decision On LRS-2020 Applications

    Hyderabad, Feb 26 (Maxim News): The State government headed by the Chief Minister Revanth Reddy has taken a key decision on the LRS-2020 (Layout Regularization Scheme) applications.

  • Priyanka Gandhi’s Visit To Chevella Cancelled

    Priyanka Gandhi’s Visit To Chevella Cancelled

    Hyderabad, Feb 26 (Maxim News): AICC leader Priayanka Gandhi’s visit to Telangana has been cancelled due to unavoidable reasons. She was supposed to attend the public meeting in Chevella tomorrow on February 27 to participate in the programme to implement two guarantees of Gas Cylinder at Rs. 500  and 200 free power to domestic consumers…

Now you can get the latest stories from Indtoday on Telegram every day. Click the link to subscribe.  Click to follow Indtoday’s Facebook pageTwitter and Instagram. For all the latest Hyderabad News updates

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.