HD Kumaraswamy’s Coalition Government Loses Trust Vote In Karnataka Assembly

The Karnataka assembly has voted on the Trust Motion and HD Kumaraswamy’s Congress-JDS coalition has lost the trust vote by 6 votes as 99 legislators were in favour of the confidence motion and 105 against it, Assembly Speaker KR Ramesh Kumar announced before adjourning the House.

With the numbers stacked against him, Chief Minister H D Kumaraswamy faced the defeat after winding up the debate for four days on the motion of confidence moved by him on Thursday last, amid the political turmoil.

The Congress-JDS government had defied the two deadlines set by Governor Vajubhai Vala to Kumaraswamy to demonstrate his majority on Friday itself.

A wave of resignations had set off the political turbulence in the state, pushing the 14-month old coalition government to the brink of collapse.

Prohibitory orders are in place across Bengaluru for 48 hours starting 6pm today over the trust vote.

The state assembly proceedings commenced at 10 am this morning with BJP in full attendance. Several Congress-JDS lawmakers including Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy and Siddaramaiah were absent for the first few hours of the session.

The coalition plunged into crisis after 16 lawmakers resigned and two independents withdrew support. The BJP has accused the Chief Minister of delaying the trust vote in hopes of reprieve from the Supreme Court.

Comments are closed.