Rewriting History: A Record Of 78 Women MPs Elected Into The Indian Parliament

For the first time in the history of Indian elections, to represent the aspirations of the people in Indian parliament, a record of 78 women have been elected. However, they contribute only up to just 14.36 percent in the Parliament.

Within the lines of the party, the ruling BJP party had sent the most number of women to the Parliament. The part had won a total of 303 seats single-handedly, out of which 42 are women.

In the state of Uttar Pradesh, the BJP sent eight women, while the Congress, BSP and Apna Dal (Soneylal) sent one women. In West Bengal, the All India Trinamool Congress (AITMC) led by Mamata-Banerjee, gave 40 percent representation to women in the candidate list and nine women from the party have been elected, while two were from the BJP.

In Andhra Pradesh, the YSR Congress Party made a clean sweep at both the Assembly and Lok Sabha polls. In the 25 seats, the party won 22 seats and four women MPs have been elected

Comments are closed.